

PO Box 378, Valley, Nebraska 68064 www.DCWest.org Phone: 402.359.2583 Fax: 402.359.4371

Engage, Prepare, and Empower

Jim Knott Board Report High School Principal May 13, 2024

We are planning on offering a traditional summer school option for our high school credit-deficient students. The summer school session will run Monday-Friday, June 3-21 from 8:00-11:00. Students must attend 12 sessions out of 15 and complete 100% of the class to earn one semester of credit. Ms. Richards, Mr. Baker, and Ms. Cox will set up and run summer school. Eligible students will use this time to make up credits missed during the regular school year.

On Friday, May 3rd, the senior scholarship breakfast was held at 7:00 a.m. in the North Gym. Seniors and their families were invited to receive and honor those receiving scholarships. This year, 48 seniors received scholarships worth a DC West Record amount of \$6.5 million. High School Counselor Mr. Ron Michael stated, "This was an excellent senior class. It is always rewarding to see kids get rewarded for their hard work. I would like to thank all of the local people who helped to provide a great jump start for these kids as they head off to college or the work force. It definitely makes a difference!"

The senior's last day of class was Wednesday, May 8. Graduation practice was held in the gym from 8:45-10:45 followed by the traditional elementary / middle school tunnel walk and the senior grill out. Graduation was held on Sunday, May 10 at 2:00 pm. Eighty-four seniors completed all DC West graduation requirements signifying the end of their high school careers and the beginning of a new chapter of their lives. Anna Borner, Brook Cooke, Gage Gratopp, Grace Holm, Olivia Malousek, Zach McArdle, Jaylee Negley, Raya Sattem, Jack Woodward, and Lillian Wright were members of the top 10% of the class and had the opportunity the speak for the Class of 2024. CONGRATULATIONS SENIORS!

SENIOR ACADEMIC AWARDS LISTED ON PAGE 2



PO Box 378, Valley, Nebraska 68064 www.DCWest.org Phone: 402.359.2583 Fax: 402.359.4371

Engage, Prepare, and Empower

Nebraska Capital Conference All-Academic Team

*3.5 Minimum Cumulative High School GPA *25 Minimum ACT Score

- Eric Asher Gage Gratopp Elizabeth Jensen-Robinson Will Reeves Zach Uehling Jack Woodward
- Anna Borner Grace Holm Zach McArdle Raya Sattem Cam Wiese Lillian Wright
- Brook Cooke Hudson Jarecke Jaylee Negley Makynna TenEyke Ryker Wohlers

President's Award of Academic Achievement

*3.0 Minimum Cumulative High School GPA *Made Outstanding Growth in English, Math, or Science

Laney Bassaillon Ethan Griffith Caleb Johnson Cheyenne Kilmer Terry Luthy III Shayla McKee Jayden Paulson Blaine Quy Brady Singer Charles Wood

- Michael Croom Liliana Harris Lukas Johnson Ellie Lloyde Maria Malousek Jonas Meairs-Richman Courtney Poloncic Ashton Scott Madison Taft
- Darby Giles Alexandria Johnson Harley Kaven Daniel Luna-Garza Nathan Martin Taylor Patterson Kaylee Perchal Carley Shaw Mesfin Wilson

2005

President's Award of Academic Excellence *3.5 Minimum Cumulative High School GPA

*24 Minimum ACT Score

Eric Asher Gage Gratopp Elizabeth Jenson-Robinson Olivia Malousek Will Reeves Zach Uehling Jack Woodward

- Anna Borner Grace Holm Megan Kopocis Zach McArdle Raya Sattem Cameron Wiese Lillian Wright
- Brook Cooke Hudson Jarecke Aubree Liss Jaylee Negley Makynna TenEyke Ryker Wohlers Nora Wurtz